The most major part like building of all times approx. 300 kilometres remotely from Assuan is: Abu Simbel, a temple which originally was dedicated to the triad Amon yardam, Harmakis and Ptah but was actually built to admire its builder Ramses II in the eternity.
On March 22nd, 1813 the Swiss Orient traveller discovered Johann Ludwig Burckhardt the heads the Ramses giants jutting out of sand drifts. The Italian started with Belzoni with the systematic exposure of the shrines only in 1817.
In front of the entrance Ramses could be immortalized itself into four powerful statues.
The stand of the sun also turned into a homage to the ruler on the birthday and at the coronation day of the Pharaoh. Visitors can gaze again at the spectacular event in admiration this year on October 22nd, too: At sunrise light falls to the shrine, sixty metres deep into the inside of the temple. Three of the four God statues built there then shine in the sunlight, only the statue of the Ancient Egyptian dead man God always remains in the dark.
The pillar hall is also impressive. One enters this room before one reaches the shrine: The walls of the reverberations are decorated with pictorial representations of important battles; the king impressively kills his enemies. For the construction of the Assuan dam in the sixties of the last century the wet reservoir arose and the flood threatened Abu Simbel.
German engineers divided the temple into over one thousand components after that and rebuilt it 180 metres further to the south and 64 metres more highly. By the transfer of the temple the sun phenomenon, original moved itself to on February 21st and on October 21st only by exactly one day to behind.